Wastewater Systems

The McAllen Public Utility Wastewater System Division operates and maintains two wastewater treatment plants, over 500 miles of 6 to 54 inch sanitary sewer lines, 25.3 miles of force main, 7,770 manholes and 54 lift stations. The division of three departments: Pre-Treatment, Collections, and Treatment.

All Phases of our wastewater operations must meet rigorous standards set by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and the Environmental Protection Agency. All of this is accomplished with the dedication and commitment of 68 employees. We take our duty seriously and responsibility to observe the highest ethical standards to protect the public health and the waters of the state.